This is what we are about

The prayer A Future Not Our Own attributed to El Salvadoran Archbishop Oscar Romero guides my work as a transformational educational leader.  One of the stanzas reads:

This is what we are about

We plant a seed that one day will grow.

We water seeds already planted,

knowing that they hold future promise.

My 28-year career braids together three strands of work as a transformational educator.  I have designed and innovated in K-12 schools as a teacher, coach and administrator, I have led groundbreaking efforts in community-based education, and I have taught undergraduates and directed programs in higher education.  Woven throughout this three-strand braid is the single red thread of my enduring commitment to creating a better world, especially for the most disenfranchised, through relevant, experiential and rigorous learning.

The vision has been clear to me since I took a year off from college to be a live-in assistant director of a shelter for homeless women in Washington DC.  Living with and walking alongside women experiencing the devastating impacts of generational poverty, systemic racism, sexism and lack of educational opportunity opened my 18-year-old eyes.  The experience gave me purpose and clarified my life project: to be an upstream actor working to change the course of injustice.  I committed myself to use my power and privilege to build the beloved community in our multicultural society through education.

Definition and Models of Leadership

            Leadership is the ability to influence people to move toward a specific vision and goal. Effective leaders are able to set a vision and build a team who strategically align their actions towards achieving that vision. Excellent leaders inspire through developing a shared vision and motivate others through modeling their own actions over time. Skilled leaders invest in their team member’s growth and development and build leadership in their team.

            As a leader, I excel at visioning.  I demonstrate skill at creating and communicating a clear and exciting idea for where an organization can go. At my best, I use my divergent thinking and strong research skills to collaboratively design a strategic way forward.  My optimism, calm perseverance and commitment to continuous improvement mark me as a transformational leader.  I support and coach my staff to be their best selves. I am always willing to put in the time and do the hard front-line work to serve our students, staff and community.  Whether providing Spanish translation while doing home visits, helping with weeding the school garden, or covering a class when substitutes are not available, I am a hands-on, servant leader.

            I am growing a more diverse set of skills and dispositions as a leader to more nimbly employ a range of leadership styles depending on the situation and environment. As I grow to greater skill in situational leadership, I draw on my nearly three decades of experience in education to determine the appropriate strategy and strength to bring to the current challenge.

Leave a comment